Laws Pertaining to Sexting in the Commonwealth of VA
Currently, the Commonwealth of Virginia could prosecute individuals, regardless of age, who are caught creating, distributing or possessing sexually explicit images of a minor under the State’s child pornography laws. Each action (creation, distribution, and possession) are independent of each other and can result in up to 3 separate felony charges. If convicted, individuals will generally be required to register as a sex offender
In general, the distribution, possession or creation of an image containing a minor engaged in a sexual activity would constitute a felony under the Virginia child pornography statute. Exceptions to the law for minors do not exist and as such two minors who send each other sexually explicit images of themselves could be prosecuted under the Commonwealth’s child pornography laws and if convicted, receive jail time and will generally need to register as a sex offender.
Law and Punishment
Virginia has three separate child pornography statutes (Production of Child Pornography, Possession of Child Pornography, and Distribution of Child Pornography) which prosecutors may use to punish individuals caught sexting.
- Production of Child Pornography.
- Enticing a minor to be the subject of an image.
- It does not matter if the minor consents to the image.
- Producing or preparing or attempting to take an explicit image of a minor.
- Knowing participates in the production of an image.
- Knowingly finance the image.
- Just lending a phone that is used to take an image could be enough.
- Punishable by up to 20 years in prison if the minor is 15 years or older.
- If the minor is under 15 years old then up to 30 years in prison.
- Possession of Child Pornography.
- Any person who knowingly possesses child pornography is guilty of a Class 6 felony.
- Conviction under the statute can result in up to 5 years in prison.
- Distribution of Child Pornography
- Any person who reproduces by any means, including by computer, sells, gives away, distributes, electronically transmits, displays with lascivious intent, purchases, or possesses with intent to sell, give away, distribute, transmit, or display child pornography with lascivious intent.
- Punishable of up to 20 years in prison.
As of now it does not appear that Virginia will have a separate sexting statute like other states have begun to do. However, many times when the sexting occurs between minors, prosecutors have been charging the minors with misdemeanor obscenity offenses. That is not to say however, that given the right circumstances that the child pornography statutes could not be used.
Class 6 felony.
Up to 20 years in jail.
Register as a sex offender.
Latest News Concerning Sexting in Virginia
WSLS 10 NBC | May 7, 2012
WAVY | January 30, 2012
Burke Patch | January 20, 2012
NewsLeader.com | October 28, 2011
Martinsville Bulletin | June 22, 2011
Patch.com | May 31, 2011
TriCities.com | April 6, 2011
Fredericksburg.com | March 16, 2011
My HS Journal | March 11, 2011
WAFB | September 9, 2010
United Press International | May 20, 2010
The information contained herein is intended only as a reference to the subject matter covered and the contents herein are not to be relied on as legal advice or legal opinion. Please contact your legal advisor for any legal advice or legal opinions. Furthermore, the content and information on this page is copyrighted material to the extent such material is not an excerpt from the law itself. Any use or reproduction of such material is strictly prohibited without the expressly written approval of Parental Solutions LLC. If you are a member of the media and wish to discuss the content contained herein or otherwise on the Mobile Media Guard website, please feel free to contact us to schedule a call.