Laws Pertaining to Sexting in the State of Vermont
Minors who are caught sending explicit images of themselves, will be declared delinquent in family court, if it is the minor’s first offense, and will be sent to a diversion program. Under the law a minor will not have to register as a sex offender. All records can be expunged when the minor reaches 18 years of age.
In 2009, the legislators in Vermont passed a law that prevented minors who are caught sexting for the first time to avoid prosecution under the State’s child pornography laws. Upon the minor’s first offense, the minor will be treated as a juvenile and the case will be diverted from the court system. The minor will generally be required to complete a diversion program as established by the State and upon completion the case will be dropped. In general, in a diversion program a probation officer will be assigned to the case and explain the program to the minor. The program will usually require the minor to participate in a certain amount of community service, and may also require restitution to the victim and educational classes. Upon completion of the program, the case will be dropped by the State.
Law & Punishment
In 2009 Vermont put into law a specific statute to deal with teenage sexting. In general, under the sexting law:
- A Minor will not be subject to the Vermont child pornography laws and punishments.
- If a minor is caught sending or receiving explicit images and provided that such images were voluntarily taken by the sender, then the minor will be charged as a juvenile and will be sent to a diversion program.
- If a minor commits a second offense then it is up to the prosecutor to determine if the minor should be tried under the State’s child pornography laws or in family court.
- If a person is 18 years of age or older and is caught with an explicit image of a minor, and the minor knowingly and voluntarily sent the image to such person, then such person could receive a fine of up to $300 and/or a prison term of up to 6 months.
- All of the minor’s records can be expunged when he or she turns 18.
- Nobody prosecuted under the sexting statute will be required to register as a sex offender.
Up to $300 fine and 6 months in jail for non-minors.
First offense for minors subject to Diversion Program.
Latest News Concerning Sexting in Vermont
WCAX | November 25, 2011
ABC | August 19, 2011
WDBJ7.com | May 5, 2011
AOL | September 4, 2009
The information contained herein is intended only as a reference to the subject matter covered and the contents herein are not to be relied on as legal advice or legal opinion. Please contact your legal advisor for any legal advice or legal opinions. Furthermore, the content and information on this page is copyrighted material to the extent such material is not an excerpt from the law itself. Any use or reproduction of such material is strictly prohibited without the expressly written approval of Parental Solutions LLC. If you are a member of the media and wish to discuss the content contained herein or otherwise on the Mobile Media Guard website, please feel free to contact us to schedule a call.