Laws Pertaining to Sexting in the State of Maine
In general, under Maine law anyone - regardless of age - who creates, distributes or possesses an image of a minor engaged in a sexually explicit act may be prosecuted under the State’s child pornography laws and if convicted, may serve up to 10 years in jail and be required to register as a sex offender.
In general, the dissemination, possession or production of an image containing a minor engaged in a sexual explicit activity would constitute a felony under the Maine child pornography statutes. Exceptions to the law for minors do not exist and as such two minors who send each other sexually explicit images of themselves could be prosecuted under the State’s child pornography laws and if convicted, could receive jail time and may need to register as a sex offender.
Law and Punishment
In general under the Maine child pornography laws it is a felony to:
- Knowing or intending that the conduct will be photographed, the person intentionally or knowingly employs, solicits, entices, persuades, uses or compels another person, not that person's spouse, who is in fact a minor, to engage in sexually explicit conduct (Sexual Exploitation of a Minor).
- Intentionally or knowingly disseminate or possess with intent to disseminate any book, magazine, newspaper, print, negative, slide, motion picture, videotape, computer data file or other mechanically, electronically or chemically reproduced visual image or material that depicts any minor who the person knows or has reason to know is a minor engaging in sexually explicit conduct (Dissemination).
- Intentionally or knowingly transport, exhibit, purchase or possess any book, magazine, newspaper, print, negative, slide, motion picture, computer data file, videotape or other mechanically, electronically or chemically reproduced visual image or material that the person knows or should know depicts another person engaging in sexually explicit conduct, and:
- The other person has not in fact attained 16 years of age; or
- The person knows or has reason to know that the other person has not attained 16 years of age (Possession).
If convicted under the statute an offender could receive up to 10 years in prison (5 years for possession) and a fine for each offense. In addition, any offender, who is tried as an adult, convicted under the statute would need to register as a sex offender.
Separate felony convictions for possession, distribution or creation of child pornography.
Up to 10 years in jail (up to 5 years for possession).
Registration as a sex offender.
Latest News Concerning Sexting in Maine
WLBZ | February 7, 2012
VillageSoup | April 11, 2011
SeaCoastOnline | April 7, 2011
Lewiston Sun Journal | March 29, 2011
Bangor Daily News | January 30, 2011
KeepMeCurrent.com | August 25, 2010
The Portland Press Herald | March 12, 2010
The information contained herein is intended only as a reference to the subject matter covered and the contents herein are not to be relied on as legal advice or legal opinion. Please contact your legal advisor for any legal advice or legal opinions. Furthermore, the content and information on this page is copyrighted material to the extent such material is not an excerpt from the law itself. Any use or reproduction of such material is strictly prohibited without the expressly written approval of Parental Solutions LLC. If you are a member of the media and wish to discuss the content contained herein or otherwise on the Mobile Media Guard website, please feel free to contact us to schedule a call.